Record Year in Scholarships at Lahainaluna High School - Sakamoto Properties

Record Year in Scholarships at Lahainaluna High School

Home » Hawaii News » Record Year in Scholarships at Lahainaluna High School
July 14, 2017

This week, we’d like to reflect on the Lahainaluna High School Foundation’s record number of administered scholarships in May of this year. It has been a bright, inspiring summer for the students, as well as donors like us who love watching our community’s youth pursuing their dreams. The awards were presented at this year’s exciting Lahainaluna High School Senior Scholarship & Awards Program on May 10.

At the event, a mind blowing total of 63 scholarships were presented to wonderful students here in West Maui. There were no less than 45 donors, ourselves among them, and at the end of the day, the final total reached $184,625. The funds were given to graduating seniors as they move on to their next set of challenges, and to Lahainaluna staff members as they continue to enrich the lives of students every year.

Among the 63 scholarships were six new ones, and that’s something worth celebrating! AAAAA Rent-A-Space and Kiiko & Juan Cabanilla Sr. Memorial scholarships were awarded to Brandon Flores; the Bonnie Ann Fijal Memorial went to Kamauliola Medeiros; George & Shirley Ito scholarship was awarded to Jarod Gaastra; James N. Martin Memorial went to Josiah Sombelon-McEwen; and the Shelton ‘Ohana renewable scholarship went to Shania Abut. We’d like to congratulate the recipients on earning these new scholarships, and we’d like to share our gratitude to the donors for joining in this fulfilling effort to support West Maui’s students. As for the existing scholarships, here is the long, impressive list. Each and every one is helping to change lives for the better.

Returning scholarships and recipients include:

  • Roy & Betty Sakamoto (renewable) Ethan Kaleiopu, and renewed for Anis Bel, Noah Howins and Karen Galuardo
  • Maureen Setsuko Ariyoshi Memorial – Kyle Schultz
  • Luly Baker – Keara Gonzalez
  • Bank of Hawaii – Giovanna Johnson
  • Blackie Gadarian Vocational – Enele Scanlon, Ivory Awai-Pascual and Josiah Sombelon-McEwen
  • Boss Frog’s Dive & Surf – Dhiane Martinez
  • Central Pacific Bank-Lahaina Branch – Taylor Panlasigui
  • Mark & Judy Ellman – Jawad Jobran
  • Front Street – renewed for Max Becerra, Lorilei Visitacion and Chelsey Erickson-Vierra
  • Ebrahim Gabbay, M.D., Memorial – Alicia Wintermeyer
  • Kihachiro J. Hotta Memorial Endowed – Christina Nakihei
  • Shigeru & Toyoko Ichiki (endowed/renewable) – Shania Abut, and renewed for Cuong Huy Tran, Kathleen Yagyagan and Candace Hanneman
  • Ilocandia Filipino Store – Vanessa Aguilar-Miranda
  • Ka Ipukukui ‘A Mau Pio ‘Ole I Ke Kaua’ula – Jalen Baraoidan
  • Kaanapali Land Management Corp. – Erick Montiel-Cardenas
  • Sgt. James Kusuda Memorial – Mosese Felemi
  • Lahainaluna Boarders Association – Aiyana Galletes
  • Lahaina Fish Co. – Jawad Jobran
  • Lahaina Hawaiian Civic Club – Christina Nakihei
  • Lahainaluna High School Foundation – Aiyana Galletes, Analiza Galuardo, Dhiane Martinez and Ethan Kaleiopu
  • Makana Aloha Foundation (renewable) – Alana Power, and renewed for Nicole Aceret
  • Holly & Rob Manning, Homes & Land Magazine of Maui Magazine – Kamauliola Medeiros
  • Mint Green House Scholarship – Julia Bianco
  • Na Hoaloha Ekolu (renewable) – Giovanna Johnson, and renewed for Tikki Bisbee
  • RVN Restaurant – Kristel Yagyagan
  • Alfredo Fred Sarian Memorial – Kamryn Lee Chang
  • Steven R. Strong, M.D., Memorial – Jamie Fujii
  • H&K Takenaga Legacy – Kristel Yagyagan
  • Territorial Savings Bank – Kelsi Badua
  • The Masters at Kaanapali Hillside-Blaze Kalilikane Memorial – Iverly Navarro
  • TS Restaurants: Duke’s Beach House – Kelsi Badua, Hula Grill – Alicia Wintermeyer, Kimo’s – Iwalouise Bryan, and Leilani’s on the Beach – Julia Bianco
  • Valley Isle Community Federal Credit Union – Alana Power
  • West Maui Community Federal Credit Union – Taylor Asio, Ethan Kaleiopu and Kamryn Lee Chang
  • Kelsi Kaahui & Chanse Uyeda Memorial Wrestling Scholarship – Alexis Encinas

Last but not least, the Dr. James Kumagai (’52) Teacher Scholarship was awarded to Pakalana Phillips at another event, and the 2017 Fujii Teacher Recognition award will be presented in August.

You may have stumbled on our blog in search of West Maui real estate and information on the market, in which case, feel free to browse past topics for valuable insights. But you will also find entries like these, that reflect the enriching community and lifestyle experiences to be had when you choose to live in West Maui. If you need our assistance in your search through listings like Kapalua homes or Kaanapali condos, you’ll find our contact information at the bottom of the page. We would be happy to help! Mahalo!

You may also like…